Thekynegro29's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Shocked

I was wrong. It happens to me from time to time. I suspected the Bill Hader and Kristen Wiig dramedy couldn’t make me care about them. Their mugging and so self conscious humor would bleed through and prevent me from connecting. I thought either it would be cliche filled, or just bomb.
Go see the Skeleton Twins. I couldn’t have been more wrong.

It is one of those rare films, that gets into your emotional cracks and sets up space until the credits. Yes, it’s a dysfunctional family, but not one that we’ve really seen before. The movie is the ultimate exploration into the lies we tell ourselves to survive and the lies we tell our loved ones to help them be able to cope when everything crashes. Dreams shared, differed and collapsed abound here. The film isn’t doom and sadness, but an intoxicating concoction of melancholy, mirth, and Halloween mixed with a dash of malaise and ennui. Yup. I went there, and it’s all true.

Hader is an open nerve of emotion, and completely makes you forget his ability to clown, until it is organic and serves the moment. Wiig breaks your heart, while making you laugh. There are some cameos I won’t ruin. A simple google search can ruin it for you. Just get up and go to your dollar theatre and see The Skeleton Twins while it is in theatres. It has emotional scope that demands a big screen. An iPad or TV viewing won’t do it justice.

I was so happy to be wrong, and love this film. I cannot endorse it enough.

IMG_0350.JPG

IMG_0351.JPG

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on October 16, 2014 by in celebrity, current events and tagged , , .