Thekynegro29's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Comparison Makes the Heart grow…

I have been thinking on comparison recently. Meditating on it to be more exact. It can lead to feelings of sadness, anger, jealousy, rage, superiority or even hopelessness. It is often considered madness to compare yourself to others. This is essential in spiritual teachings. I have often found it a little peculiar that within the spiritual teachings of many faith traditions comparison is frowned upon. I find it odd because without comparing what one has to their brother, one would not know their brother has less than, and needs help. Maybe this is just me rationalizing my need to constantly check in on others and what they have. I get it honestly at least. This is the curse of our oversharing, Instagram posting, generation. It has been proven in studies that social media makes us sad.

Facebook Study

So I am well aware I should not roam social media pages of friends, but what else am I going to do? LOL

I was going to post something to social media myself, when I was distracted by a friends post of pics out having a ball. Then the instant comparison tape begins. It starts slowly and snowballs down hill until I’m watching reruns of Golden Girls and eating Lucky Charms cereal. Why don’t they post pics when we do something. Are they closer to their other friends? Are they more important to me than I am to them? Down the rabbit hole we go…

Why do we do this to ourselves? I was perfectly happy doing my own thing. In fact, I was about to share how much I was enjoying something, until I learned how much more fun someone else was having.
Without me.
In. Real. Time…

It’s enough to drive me into a Family Ties watching binge!!!

Comparison just makes the heart grow mad. I will continue to try to not compare myself to others and simply strive to do the best I can. I don’t need to match up to someone else’s idea of perfection. I Just need to please me. If I am not a good enough standard for myself, then that is a sad state of affairs. Theodore Roosevelt famously said, “Comparison is the thief of joy.”
Truer words were never spoken.

This week, you do you.IMG_1373.JPG

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 18, 2015 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .
