Thekynegro29's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Coming Home

A few months ago I came back home, again. I had moved to the arctic tundra otherwise known as Buffalo NY to start a business venture and that blew up in my face. So after picking myself up from the rubble, I moved on. In reviewing what went wrong I now realize that I had lost myself. I was ignoring all the voices inside me that were flashing warning signals about this move being folly, fools gold in other words. The 9 months I spent there brought me blessings too. It wasn’t all bad, I found an amazing faith community that embraced all of me. I joined a loving, fabulous choir, and made some friends I still talk to. I even managed to star in the world premiere of an opera, however there was something missing. I kept getting this feeling I had lost my way. I was meandering, not on my true path, ignoring my impulses. So I left. I admitted defeat, packed up and moved back south. The moment I did, the blessings started coming. Gig after gig fell into this artists lap. Once I stopped following someone else’s path and touched truth, my truth, I was golden. I found a great artistic community that produces work centered in social justice, and I am now going in the right direction for me both professionally and academically. I am closer to the love of God than I have been in a long time, and I couldn’t be happier. Coming home to myself has been the best trip I’ve ever taken

Queer Theology Syncroblog

4 comments on “Coming Home

  1. Pingback: “Listening to the Old Bray of my Heart…” | Murmurs and Antagonisms

  2. Pingback: Coming As We Are: supporting the mental health of your queer community | Being Kate

  3. Brian G. Murphy
    October 23, 2014

    Enjoyed reading this short story πŸ™‚ Even though you count your time in Buffalo as “defeat,” I think it’s important to give yourself credit: moving someplace new to start a business is bold! I’m excited to hear that things are going well from you in your new/old home!

    • thekynegro29
      October 27, 2014

      Oh I had a lot of #winning there as well. Lol I mention those. However I think it’s important to not paper over failure and always try to relabel it. I failed. It’s ok. It wasn’t entirely my doing, but I’ll take my part. I’m doing better now than I was before artistically, professionally, and spiritually. So it’s good to fail sometimes. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 23, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , .
