Thekynegro29's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Where do Black Men go?

I am at a loss. There is a frustration and anger within me that is mixed with sadness. I cry often and beat my fists into things, rather than people. I write to bear witness to what is happening to my brothers of color. It is not just Ferguson. It is not just the south.
Black men are in danger everywhere…
Where are we to go?
We get murdered perusing merchandise in Walmart…
We get murdered walking down the street with skittles…
We get murdered on the subway platform shot in the back by police…
We get murdered, walking while gay and black in the village of all places!

What’s even more striking is that white people cross the street when I walk towards them. White women clutch their purses. Tell me, why should you be afraid of me, when I’m the one being murdered by you daily?

I want a national conversation to take place, but we are beyond words on the Negro question.
Rage, indignation, anger. That’s where I am, and I do great work to mask it daily. I’m so tired of my beautiful brothers laying dying in the streets and nothing being done about it.
There is truly no justice, and I have no peace.
Where can I go? Where can a black man go and be safe, loved, and welcomed? We can’t go to a store or simply walk down the street. I guess our options include becoming a recluse, or dying.

Some say run to the Church. The black Church has long been a home for black men…Ok, but what if you are gay? The black church is AS homophobic (not more) as the rest of society. I am lucky to belong to an affirming church that loves ALL of me. What about my LGBTQ brothers of color who aren’t Christian or can’t find a church that loves all of them? In other words their whole being?
What is to become of us black men? Where can black men go? Where are our safe spaces? Does anyone even care anymore? Where do we fit?

The place in which I’ll fit will not exist until I make it. – James Baldwin

How do we foster a place where we fit? Safe black spaces for men of color need to be created, and promoted. The old spaces, the barbershop, the church, the meeting hall- these are gone, or quickly vanishing. Where is the new place to find support and healing for people who look like me? Social Media is a rallying platform. Let’s work to create these spaces for the newest endangered species…
The black man.

IMG_0023.JPG

IMG_0026.JPG

IMG_0024.JPG

IMG_0027.JPG

IMG_0027-0.JPG

8 comments on “Where do Black Men go?

  1. Pingback: Where Do Black Men Go? -

  2. LessonsLearned_WisdomEarned
    September 3, 2014

    WOW, you blew my mind. This post makes me think about race differently. I never thought that I should be afraid of a white person. I was always taught that the white people should be afraid of me. This forces me to reevaluate my own existence. For example, am I really the aggressor and should white people be scared of me, especially, when I don’t think that I am scary.

    • thekynegro29
      September 28, 2014

      Thank you for reading!

  3. kathy wagener
    September 9, 2014

    beautiful, sad, horrible, brilliant…sad. thank you so much for this.

    • thekynegro29
      September 28, 2014

      Thank you!

  4. Granny Smith
    September 28, 2014

    Guess black men can go to Ferguson and plunder like they did and their bully teens can punch elders to the floor and steal from their victims. Let them call on their saviors, sharpton, jackson and that other one that lives in a big white house, what’s-his-face. bama, yah, that’s it, bama. It is people like that, that have changed my view of many blacks and the word,nigger, is too good to describe them. They have caused more hatred in 8 years than 100 years prior and now we are back to the starting line almost.

    • thekynegro29
      September 28, 2014

      AHAHAHAHAH #foolish

  5. Vicki Doetsch
    January 9, 2015

    Earthshaking; The Pieta with Jesus and Mary.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 28, 2014 by in Black, current events, Uncategorized and tagged , , .
