Thekynegro29's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

5 Rap Songs That’ll Help You Forget You’re A Privileged White Kid

Thought Catalog

I started listening to rap when I started going out in college, and that was what they played at frat parties. (Never mind that at the time I thought “Lazers” and “I’m on a Boat” counted as real rap, but I’ve come a long way since then…I hope). Sometimes, as an extremely naive white girl, it’s hard to be into rap. I try to identify as much as I can, but once ScHoolboy Q starts talking about things like “selling crack” and “having a daughter,” he loses me. Cue the existential crisis where I struggle to come to terms with my own privilege and the fact that not everything in the world is made just for me.
Sometimes, you need to just forget the harsh reality that you grew up in an upper-middle class family with loving parents who are still married and face no real hardships. Here…

View original post 594 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 24, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
